EPS Nuclear Physics Division



Johan Nyberg

Division of Nuclear Physics Department of Physics and Astronomy Uppsala University

+ +

EPS has 23 Divisions and 8 Groups. Nuclear Physics Division is the largest (about 100 members).

Scope of the Nuclear Physics Division (bylaws 1973)

The object of the Nuclear Physics Division (NPD) shall be to assist the advancement and dissemination of knowledge in nuclear physics, which we define as the study of nuclei, their structure, disintegration, interactions and other properties and including the constituent parts of the nucleus and their interactions with one another and with nuclei and with the atomic environment.

The divisional activities will include the organisation of and approval of conferences and summer schools in this field of study and also furthering the exchange of scientists and students.

http://www.eps.org/?page=npd

Membership and Board

NPD Membership

Individual Members (IM) of the EPS.

IM membership + SFS membership: 600 SEK/year \rightarrow Fysikaktuellt (4/y), Europhysics News (6/y), reduced fees for EPS conferences.

NPD Board

Board composition: ordinary members (max. 10, nominated and elected), co-opted members (max. 10). From Jan 2015:

Douglas MacGregor (chairman), Faiçal Azaiez (chair-elect), Dimiter Balabanski, Nicola Bianchi, Dolores Cortina, László Csernai, Wojtek Dominik, Piet Van Duppen, Karlheinz Langanke, Anna Mackova, Johan Nyberg (secretary), Yeşim Öktem (treasurer), Klaus Peters, Eli Piasetzky, Jan Ryckebusch, Dora Sohler, Alexander Sorin, Jouni Suhonen.

Term of office: max. 3×2 consecutive years.

Board meetings twice per year.

Some of the Activities of the NPD Board

Conference organisation

Divisional Conferences, Topical Conferences.

Prizes

Lise Meitner Prize, IBA-Europhysics Prize, PhD Thesis Prize.

Public Awareness of Nuclear Science (PANS)

Joint initiative between NPD and NuPECC that aims to improve the understanding of nuclear science by the general public.

Reports on nuclear physics and related topics

- EPS Topical Paper (in preparation): Application of Nuclear Physics for Study, Preservation and Conservation of Cultural Heritage.
- EPS Position Paper (2007): Energy for the Future. The nuclear option.

Conference Organisation

Divisional Conferences

- European Nuclear Physics Conference (EuNPC)
 - EuNPC2015, 31 Aug 4 Sep 2015, Groningen, The Netherlands http://www.eunpc2015.org/
 Chair of the local organising committee: Nasser Kalantar (KVI)
- Nuclear Physics in Astrophysics (NPA)
 - NPA VII, 18-22 May 2015, York, United Kingdom, http://npa7.iopconfs.org/
 - NPA VIII, 2017: call for organising to be issued in Nov 2014.

Topical Conferences

- European Conference on Science and Technology for FAIR, 13-17 October 2014, Worms, Germany
 - http://indico.gsi.de/conferenceDisplay.py?confId=2443 Chair: Klaus Peters (GSI).
- Conference on the future distributed ISOL facility in Europe. Suggested for 2016.

PhD Thesis Prize

Awarded by the NPD every third year (2012, 2015, ...) to recognise the excellence of a recent European PhD in Nuclear Physics.

Prize: Diploma, 1000 EUR, talk at a plenary session at the next EUNPC.

Call for applications for the 2012-2014 PhD Thesis Prize is open:

http://www.eps.org/?NPD_prizes_PhD

Deadline for application: 1 January 2015.

IBA-Europhysics Prize for Applied Nuclear Science and Nuclear Methods in Medicine

Awarded by the NPD every odd year to one or several individuals for outstanding contributions to Applied Nuclear Science and Nuclear Methods and Nuclear Researches in Medicine.

Call for nominations for the 2015 IBA-Europhysics Prize will be announced in Nov 2014.

Lise Meitner Prize for Nuclear Science

Awarded by the NPD every even year to one or several individuals for outstanding work in the fields of experimental, theoretical or applied nuclear science.



2014 LM Prize winners:

Johanna Stachel, Peter Braun-Munzinger, Paolo Giubellino and Jürgen Schukraft

for their outstanding contributions to the experimental exploration of the quark-gluon plasma using ultra-relativistic nucleus-nucleus collisions, in particular to the design and construction of ALICE and shaping its physics program and scientific results bringing to light unique and unexpected features of a deconfined state of strongly-interacting matter at the highest temperatures ever produced in the laboratory.

2016 LM Prize: Next call for nominations in autumn 2015.