### News from IUPAP C4

### Riccardo Catena

# Chalmers University of Technology

October 22, 2024







#### Overview

- The International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) was established in 1922
- It currently has 60 Territorial Members
- The aims of the Union are:
  - → Assist in the worldwide development of physics and promote physics as an essential tool for development and sustainability;
  - → Engage in the strengthening and improvement of physics education, particularly in developing countries;
  - → Increase diversity and inclusion in physics;
  - → Foster international cooperation and sponsor suitable international physics meetings;
  - → Promote the free circulation of scientists and the open access to data;
  - → Enhance the vital role of early career physicists;
  - → Strengthen the links with physicists working outside academia and with other scientific communities;
  - → Uphold openness, honesty and integrity in the practice, application and promotion of physics;
  - → Promote international agreements on symbols, units, nomenclature and standards

### Selected actions

- IUPAP endorses and sponsors international conferences and workshops:
  - → Type A, or General, conference. Large general meeting of 750 -1000 attendees covering an entire field (i.e. the area covered by a Commission).
  - → Type B, or Topical, conference. Smaller with 300 500 attendees on a subset of topics.
  - → Type C, or Special, conference. 50 200 attendees on a specialized topic, and may be a workshop.
  - → Type D, workshops in developing countries.
- IUPAP sponsors a number of awards for scientists at different stages of their careers
  - → Major prizes honor the achievements of established renown physicists within the subfields of each Commission.
  - → Early Career Scientist Prizes recognize the contributions of early career physicists within these subfields.

#### Governance

- The Union is governed by its General Assembly
- The Council is its top executive body, supervising the activities of specialised International Commissions, Affiliated Commissions and Working Groups

### International Commissions

- → C1: Commission on Policy and Finance
- → C2: Commission on Symbols, Units, Nomenclature, Atomic Masses and Fundamental Constants
- → C3: Statistical Physics
- → C4: Astroparticle Physics
- → C5: Low Temperature Physics
- → C6: Biological Physics
- → C8: Semiconductors
- → C9: Magnetism
- → C10: Structure and Dynamics of Condensed Matter
- → C11: Particles and Fields
- → C12: Commission on Nuclear Physics
- → C13: Physics for Development
- → C14: Physics Education
- → C15: Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics
- → C16: Plasma Physics
- → C17: Laser Physics and Photonics
- → C18: Mathematical Physics
- → C19: Astrophysics
- → C20: Computational Physics

## C4: Astroparticle Physics

- C4 promotes the exchange of information among the members of the international scientific community in the general field of Astroparticle Physics, including
  - → The nature and characteristics of the electromagnetic, particle and other radiation present in the cosmos;
  - $\,\,\,\,\,\,\,\,\,\,\,$  The theory and models concerning the origin of this radiation;
  - → Non-accelerator high energy physics;
  - → The specialised technologies necessary in the field and their application

## C4 mandate and composition

### Mandate includes:

- → Initiate and support international conferences such as ICRC, ISVHECRI, TAUP, VLVnT, IDM, and TeVPA
- → Promotion of free circulation of all scientists
- $\,\rightarrow\,$  Award the IUPAP Early Career Scientist Prize in Astroparticle Physics
- → Award the Homi Bhabha Medal and Prize "to an active scientist who has made distinguished contributions in the field over an extended career"
- → Award the O'Ceallaigh Medal "to a scientist who has made distinguished contributions to Cosmic Ray Physics"
- → To maintain liaison with other IUPAP Commissions, and make available to each General Assembly of the Union a summary of activities

#### Members:

- → Ralph Engel, Germany (Chair)
- → Christina M. S. Cohen, United States (Vice-Chair)
- → Carola Chinelatto, Brazil (Secretary)
- → Yvonne Wong, Australia
- → Zhiguo Yao, China(Beijing)
- → Rami Vainio, Finland
- → Pankaj Jain, India
- → Elena Amato, Italy
- → Elena Amato, Italy
- → Shoichi Ogio, Japan
- ightarrow Sergey Troitsky, Russian Federation
- → Du Toit Strauss, South Africa
  → Riccardo Catena, Sweden
- → Riccardo Catena, Sweden
- → Yuan-Hann Chang, China (Taipei)
- → Subir Sarkar, United Kingdom

- In 2024 IUPAP C4 sponsored ISVHECRI 2024; 8 12 July 2024, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
- In 2024 IUPAP C4 received applications to support two conferences: ICRC 2025 and TAUP 2025
- In 2024 IUPAP C4 awarded the following prizes:

## 1) Early Career Scientist Prize in Astroparticle Physics

- → Lu Lu, PhD, University of Wisconsin Madison, USA For "her contributions to the development of high energy neutrino astronomy in the PeV energy region".
- → Andrea Caputo, PhD, CERN Switzerland For "his leading theoretical contributions to connecting beyond-Standard-model particle physics with astrophysics and cosmology".

### 2) IUPAP-TIFR Homi Bhabha Medal and Prize

→ Samuel C. C. Ting, MIT, USA

### 3) O'Ceallaigh Medal

→ Sunil K. Gupta, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, India